The mission of the C-RAIND Internal Advisory Committee (IAC) is to be champions and stewards of C-RAIND's mission, performing the leadership role in the long-term sustainability of C-RAIND. The IAC shall (1) strive to attain global leadership status of C-RAIND in neurodevelopmental disability research by increasing the visibility and recognition of the C-RAIND Faculty, (2) create opportunities to increase collaboration between faculty on all of MSU’s campuses, other universities, and community stakeholders, and (3) strategically plan to provide a road map for C-RAIND sustainability.


The IAC meets bi-monthly and is comprised of the C-RAIND management team and faculty from participating Colleges. The membership composition reflects at least one faculty actively conducting research in one of C-RAIND's five research themes and at least one faculty from the participating colleges.

Research Themes

  1. Lifespan Developmental Issues
  2. Measurement, Assessment and Diagnostic Issues
  3. Intervention and Implementation Science
  4. Etiology, Prevention Science and Mechanisms
  5. Family, Cultural and Societal Issues

Gary Bente

Professor, Director of the Center for Avatar Research and Immersive Media Applications (CARISMA)

Michael Boivin

Department of Psychiatry, Department of Neurology & Ophthalmology

Keith English

Professor and Chair
Pediatrics and Human Development

Barbara Given

Interim Associate Dean for Research, University Distinguished Professor Emerita

Ian Gray

Former Vice President of Research and Graduate Studies

Brooke Ingersoll

Associate Professor and Director of the MSU Autism Lab
Department of Psychology

Arjun Krishnan

Assistant Professor
Department of Computational Mathematics, Science, and Engineering, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Michael J. Leahy

University Distinguished Professor, RAIND Co-Director, and Director of the Office of Rehabilitation and Disability Studies
Department of Counseling, Educational Psychology and Special Education

Kendra Moyses

Director of the Children and Youth Institute
MSU Extension

Amy Nuttall

Assistant Professor
Department of Human Development and Family Studies

Dionne O'Dell

Associate Director of Arts and Cultural Management
Outreach and Engagement, Theatre

Nigel Paneth

University Distinguished Professor, RAIND Co-Director, Pediatrician, and Epidemiologist
Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics

Derek Polischuk

Associate Professor and Director of Piano Pedagogy
Department of Music

Connie Sung

Associate Professor
Department of Counseling, Educational Psychology and Special Education

Martin Volker

Associate Professor, Director of C-RAIND Research Assessment Support Unit
Department of Counseling, Educational Psychology and Special Education